Who is a vegan? What types of foods do vegans eat? How do such foods affect their lifestyles? These are some of the questions that most people have about vegans. Some do not also differentiate vegans and vegetarians. For a start, vegans are vegetarians but vegetarians are not vegans. What does this mean? This simply implies that vegetarians do not consume meat while vegans do not partake of any animal food products.
What types of foods do vegans eat? It follows clearly that vegans rely on plant based recipes for their diets. There are easy vegan recipes that are derived from plant products and that provide foods rich in nutrients. Some of the recipes are easy to follow and implement while others are complicated and require patience. However, most vegans in the world opt for easy quick vegan recipes that allow them to expedite the cooking process while at the same time providing them with delicious vegan meals.
Most vegan dishes consist of vegetables, fruits and plant root tubers. These are some of the most readily available vegan food ingredients in the world. They also serve important functions of providing nutrients to the body. What differs from one area to the other are the methods of preparing such dishes. The combination of such ingredients also differs since people will mix only the available ingredients within the area.
There are various combinations of foods that form part of a vegan diet. For instance, rice served with various vegetable stews is very common the world over. The vegetables can be different whether leafy or not leafy. Methods of cooking are boiling, steaming, frying and simmering. Each food type is suitable for a specific dish. Additives that are not derived from animal products can also be used to spice up the vegan meals. Spices that are derived from assorted vegetables are the best since they do not contain any form of animal products.
Other vegan meals can be prepared in sophisticated ways. For instance, different vegan cakes can be prepared without using conventional cake baking ingredients. These ingredients are mainly milk and eggs which do not form part of the diet of a vegan. Replacements of such ingredients are usually deduced from plant products. Some of them include: Vinegar, coffee and some forms of cocoa powder. In most cases, procedures that are used to bake other cakes are followed to bake vegan cakes. Notable though is the fact that vegan dishes can be as sweet and delicious as other foods derived from animal products. Please view this site http://www.ehow.com/how_8360428_start-vegan-diet.html for further detail.s